About Scouting

Logo-BSA-OMHThe Boy Scouts of America (BSA) is one of the largest youth organizations in the United States, with over 4.5 million youth members in its age-related divisions. For over a century (since 1910), the BSA has helped build the future leaders of this country by combining educational activities and lifelong values with fun. The Boy Scouts of America believes — and, through over a century of experience, knows — that helping youth is a key to building a more conscientious, responsible, and productive society. Since its founding in 1910 as part of the international Scout Movement, more than 110 million Americans have been members of the BSA.

The BSA goal is to train youth in responsible citizenship, character development, and self-reliance through participation in a wide range of outdoor activities, educational programs, and, at older age levels, career-oriented programs in partnership with community organizations. For younger members, the Scout method is part of the program to inculcate typical Scouting values such as trustworthiness, good citizenship, and outdoors skills, through a variety of activities such as camping, aquatics, and hiking.

The mission of the Boy Scouts of America is to prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law.

The Scout Oath

On my honor I will do my best
To do my duty to God and my country
and to obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times;
To keep myself physically strong,
mentally awake, and morally straight.

The Scout Law:

A Scout is: Trustworthy, Loyal, Helpful, Friendly, Courteous,
Kind, Obedient, Cheerful, Thrifty, Brave, Clean and Reverent.

The Scout Oath:

"Be Prepared"

The Ranks ClipArt-BSA-Ranks

One of the primary objectives of Boy Scouts is to advance in rank. The rank system in the BSA is designed to constantly challenge the scout to learn more (the merit badge program), become better citizens (through service opportunities), develop leadership skills (by taking leadership responsibilities within the troop).  Scouts that stay involved with the program will have a variety of possible opportunities available to them as they progress in rank, such as camping, traveling, canoeing, hiking, and swimming... to name only a small few.

The ranks of the BSA are as follows: Scout, Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, and finally Eagle. 

Other Programs offered by the Boy Scouts of America

The BSA provides several other programs besides just Boy Scouts. Troop 60 works closely on a local level with 2 of these programs, Cub Scout Pack 60 of Dyersville and Venturing Crew 61 of Dyersville.

Cub Scouts is a program for boys from 1st to 5th grade (ages 5-11). The program is designed to pursue the aims of character development, citizenship training, and personal fitness. Cub Scouting is divided into age-based levels of Tiger Cubs, Bobcat, Wolf, Bear and Webelos.

Venturing is a program for adolescent boys and girls (ages 14-21). The purpose of Venturing is to provide positive experiences to help youth mature and to prepare them to become responsible adults.